Should I wash Aida before I star stitching?

Tips, Tricks & Techniques - anything to help fellow cross stitchers.

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

arrielle1977

Should I wash Aida before I star stitching?

Post by arrielle1977 »

Hello,
I am new to crosshatching and I have a couple of questions:

1. Should I wash Aida fabric before I start the project?
( I did it for Aida Carolina Linen from Charles Craft and it shrunk about 1 to 2 cm both ways. Now holes in the fabric are a little too small and I am afraid the pattern will not come like in the picture)

2. After I finish the project should I wash the project? What if it shrinks even more?

3. If I did not wash Aida in the beginning, but I wash it after I finish the project, is the fabric going to shrink and ruin my project?

4. Is there any chance for the colors of the threads to bleed into each other when I finish and wash the project? I did wash the thread before too, in vinegar actually but...one can never be safe enough :)

Thank you so much.
Sorry for my clumsy English. I am not a native speaker.
rcperryls

Re: Should I wash Aida before I star stitching?

Post by rcperryls »