blanket stitch tips? (updated)

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

lovesteph

blanket stitch tips? (updated)

Post by lovesteph »

I am always losing my needles, and decided to stitch up a quick needlebook. My grandma made me one out of scrap fabric when I was young, but I can't find it. :(

My sewing skills are... not great, but I wanted to do something a little different besides just cross stitch. This was my first time doing backstitch (for the text, very happy with that) and blanket stitch (not so thrilled).

I don't know if I'm just being a perfectionist, but the stitches look too loose and "loopy". Some are just wrong. Does anyone have any tips on getting a tighter, more even looking blanket stitch?

Thank you :D

Steph
Last edited by lovesteph on Thu Sep 25, 2014 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
NeedleAndFork

Re: blanket stitch tips?

Post by NeedleAndFork »

I am far from an expert on blanket stitch, so take my opinion with a grain of salt if you wish, but just looking at it, my first thought was that maybe you're using too many strands of floss? The more strands you use the thicker and less .. flexible? (not quite the right word but I can't think of what is) it becomes. So your stitching loses a bit of definition. If you use fewer strands you might bet sharper 'bends' in the floss helping to eliminate the loopy look. That said, I think the loopy look does have a charm of its own and I quite like it.
My blog: Obsessed With Thread

My WIPs: Kimono Lantern Mermaid, Rovaris Alphabet Sampler Christmas Ornaments

Participant of: Ornament a Month SAL, Stitch from Stash Challenge
Allyn

Post by Allyn »

First, I'll say that this is really cute. :) I like it.