Question for Quilters

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

Slinky

Question for Quilters

Post by Slinky »

Hi folks

I have always wanted to learn how to quilt so next year I might try to learn.

Bearing in mind the only stitching experience/skill I have is cross stitch-related, can you recommend any quilting books for absolute beginners like myself? I looked on Amazon and was bewildered by choice, so any pointers would be helpful. I would like to read around the subject to work out what is involved and what equipment I might need.

On that subject, I'm guessing a sewing machine is essential. Are there any features that you would consider indispensable for quilting that I should look out for?

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Slinky
~ girls with dreams grow into women with vision ~

WIPs:
The Sweetheart Tree 12 Days of Christmas
Sharon Pope's Gingerbread Cottage
Chatelaine Christmas Mystery 2011
Squirrel

Re: Question for Quilters

Post by Squirrel »

Hi Slinky, Mmmm its hard to know how to advise you on any of your questions.

I am not aware of any books which actually teach quilting for a complete beginner. There are books of lots of different blocks and one i have is Around the Block by Judy Hopkins. I think finding a quilting group and joining in wouldbe a huge help, if you have a quilt shop handy.

Sewing machine. Definitely make sure it can do quilting and has the proper 1/4 inch foot as well as a quilting foot and ask the sales person to show you how to use it.
As you are only starting quilting maybe cheap to the more basic models rather than spend huge amounts on the upmarket computerised ones - at least until you have tried the patchwork and quilting for a while and really fall in love with it.

Materials. A good sized cutting mat and rotary cutter and ruler are the basic requirements.

I am sure that there are others who can help you with ideas too.

Good luck with your new passion.

Sally
Sally in Brisbane Australia

WIPS