should i stitch line by line or according to thread colour?

Tips, Tricks & Techniques - anything to help fellow cross stitchers.

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

Teffa

should i stitch line by line or according to thread colour?

Post by Teffa »

Hi everyone!! :) This is my first post in a forum...I've been practising cross stitch for the past 6 months and I always stuck to simple designs which I stitched line by line...but now I'm starting a project which has quite a large number of different shades...should i stitch my project line by line or should i stitch it according to the thread colour and then go back to the lines when I need a different colour? I'm confused because some lines only have one stitch in a particular colour so i dont want my project to look messy on the back...
i would be grateful if you could share your tips with me...
thanks a lot! :)
Teffa
agi

Re: should i stitch line by line or according to thread colour?

Post by agi »

Hi, Teffa, welcome to the forum.

I tend to do patches of colours rather than lines, I don't even know how to do that, but I have to admit my back is not as neat as I would like it to be.

When it is a bigger patch of the same colour it looks good but when there are just a few stitches of a colour it becomes messy.

Hopefully there will be someone else with bigger experience who can help you more. But my advice is: don't worry too much, do it as it comes easier for you, and simply don't show your backside to anyone. :lol: :lol: :lol:

(We have been having some crazy jokes here about our backsides - if you want a good laugh, you have come to the right place.)
Agi

"The world, as a colourful knot of threads, has turned into a memory, and now you cannot be sure whether it was real."
(Géza Ottlik, Hungarian writer)

My blog
Teffa

Post by Teffa »

thanks a lot for sharing your method with me :D