When do you stop being a beginner?

For all topics which do not fit in the other categories.

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

richardandtracy

When do you stop being a beginner?

Post by richardandtracy »

I know this seems a daft question, but..

'When do you stop being a beginner?'

I'm pretty sure I'm still a beginner, having only completed 5 projects in 3.5 years, however a few of them have been quite difficult and quite large, so I prefer to think 'Intermediate beginner' rather than 'Complete Beginner'.

So, where do you think the cutoff between 'Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced' is?

Is the end of being a beginner being competent at parking? Handling 40 colours in a 10 x 10 square? Or is it based on number of stitches completed since starting, or even number of projects completed? And what constitutes 'Advanced techniques'?

Just curious what you think. One reason I'm asking is that I'm vaguely thinking of enrolling on a local adult education course, with the local one being 'at a beginner's level', however, while I still think I'm a beginner, after looking at the prospectus I'm not sure the course has anything to offer that I've not already tried (don't want to give a link to the prospectus as it nails down my locality rather more tightly than I want to give on an open forum).

Regards,

Richard.
http://www.chestnutpens.co.uk
Free Charting Program for PC's Info Zip Installation
NeedleAndFork

Re: When do you stop being a beginner?

Post by NeedleAndFork »

If you're a beginner with 3.5 years of experience and 6 pieces under your belt, I'm a total newb. Apart from a bit of playing around with cross stitch when I was 8 or 9, I never touched it again until last year and I've yet to finish my first HAED, though I've done several smaller items such as ornaments.