Why hello! Life & a Finish

For all topics which do not fit in the other categories.

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

CuriousKitty

Why hello! Life & a Finish

Post by CuriousKitty »

Sorry I have been gone for so long. Life, as usual, got in the way as we have all seen with the pandemic. I work as a hospital staffer for the inpatient units, so I basically manage making sure all the units have enough staff going into each shift as much as possible... and up-staffing for covid patients. Unfortunately, it's had the side effect of drastically worsening my fairly minor IBS into full blown no-dairy, no-wheat and daily abdominal pain. I had my first anxiety/panic attack ever driving home from work yesterday and I took today off.

But, there's a bright spot in all of this. I have actually finally finished every panel on my baby afghan after 7 years. I see that the last update I had for it on the forums was somewhere between Q and R, in 2017 (ooops). It's also when I still used photobucket, so of course all the images are now gone and the thread will have to be updated with new pictures.

There was some indecision as to what would go in the corners after all this time, if anyone followed the emotional history behind it. The blanket was originally intended for one niece, then both nieces, then I put so much work into it (and was on the outs with my sister) that I decided to keep it for my own children only to find I wasn't going to be having any. The end decision was 2 flowers, a daffodil for March birthday and a daisy for an April birthday, for my grandparents. The daffodil was entirely free-handed off of a picture that had no pattern, and the daisy was a purchased pattern that was modified quite a bit to fit inside the panel.