Advice for buying a Cross Stitch Frame

For all topics which do not fit in the other categories.

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

Bearstich

Advice for buying a Cross Stitch Frame

Post by Bearstich »

Dear Stitchers,
I am new to Cross Stitching and have completed three projects. This is a hobby I plan sticking to, so i don't mind spending some money on a nice frame that will last me a long time. The first three projects I have stitched i used a hoop. It was okay, but i dislike the hoop marks. Even when I took the hoop off right after stitching i still saw the marks.

I would like to start stitching on a frame. I have been looking for one for quite some time. As i do not have a cross stitch store where I live, I have been searching around online. I have found a frame that I might purchase. Because i don't like stitching at a table, it is a frame that i can place on my lap. The frame I'm thinking about buying is called "Images Stitchery Design The Doodler Stitch Frame", and can be found on amazon.

Before I make this purchase I would like to read your opinions. Is their a specific frame that you have that you love to stitch with? What do you think of the frame I mentioned above?

Thank You for helping
Warm Regards,
Bearstich
Arianwen

Re: Advice for buying a Cross Stitch Frame

Post by Arianwen »

Personally I use hoops or Qsnaps to stitch with. Yes they leave marks sometimes but considering that I always wash and iron my stitching when I have finished it, its not a problem, they always come out. And I usually leave my stitching on the frame until I finish it.

I've not come across that frame before but the reviews look good. You will only know if it works for you by trying it out. I don't get on with scroll frames (this is a type of scroll frame) so I don't think this will work for me
Current WIP's

HAED What Lies beneath Dakota Daetwiler
Disney Dreams The little mermaid / Fantasia by MCG textiles/Thomas kinkade

Spinning/wool craft